Racism Against Asians.

The Guardian on Facebook.

(You should probably click on that link and read the article beforehand to understand where I’m going with this blog entry.) 

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, then you would have heard all about Jeremy Lin and his spectacular basketball skills this past month. (Seriously, even my 49 year old mother knows about him, and let me tell you – she’s obsessed.) What I want to blog about today is not his miraculous winning streaks, but the racism directed at him by a select few within the American public. Seriously America, the whole world already thinks most of you are giant d-bags, why do you continuously reinforce that belief? I’m not going to claim everyone from America are like that (because that’s just stupid) but there are always a few that ruin it for the rest. I’ve made racist comments myself, but it wasn’t in a way intended to bash someone for being born a certain ethnicity. It was always lighthearted, and attempted to be funny. However, I’m not saying it was right for me to do so either, because that would just make me a hypocrite.

Is there something about Asians that make the White community believe we’re lower on the cultural pyramid than them? Is it our almond shaped eyes? Our luscious straight black hair? Or perhaps, the stereotypical belief that each of us were born with a genius calculator for a brain? Whatever the reason is, the one sure thing I can say is that Caucasians have always been (and probably will continue to be) at the top of that metaphorical cultural pyramid for many years to come. But when you take a look at the history books; Chinese is the oldest language on record, taking first place just ahead of Ancient Greek and Latin. It really says something, that my culture far precedes any other by a fair few hundred (thousands?) years. But on the other end of the spectrum, I must admit that the behaviour of many Asians in the 21st century is a pet peeve that annoys me. A LOT.

Having worked in the hospitality industry since the day I was legally allowed, I’ve met my fair share of annoying customers. But no-one, and seriously no-one, is as annoying as the Asian (Chinese) customers that come in with their “higher-than-thou” attitude, believing they should always be served first because they’re more important. I hope this blog entry is not progressing into a rant, but perhaps this stigma against the Asian community is also brought up by the select few that ruin it for the rest of us. Waving your hand in my face or poking me, will not result in food being placed in front of them any quicker. As a matter of fact, I will actually make sure they get their food last. Manners are something taught from childhood and fine-tuned through your teen years. Every time I head into work for the Twilight shift (I work on a showboat that caters to tourists during the afternoon), I cringe a little while my respect for my own ethnicity slowly diminishes as they continuously show disrespect to my co-workers and I. And the nose-picking in public. Really? REALLY?!  

I understand that this stigma against the Asian community is really brought on by a selection of people that reinforce the Asian stereotypes. However, they are not the only ones at fault. From a psychological point of view, children are nurtured into the beliefs and behaviour of their parents. I know this is literally impossible, but if every being within our planet could be more open-minded about other cultures, even if to make one new friend that is different to them – then the next generation may potentially result in lower racism. But I guess that’s just wishful thinking.

Leave a Reply

